Mike Seaver on a Cross

Oh, Mikey Seaver… where did you go?

Seriously though, I actually appreciate Cameron’s courage to speak his views. I don’t agree with them, but I do believe it’s important for people to speak out about their beliefs. Without this transparency, it’s impossible to discuss and debate ideas. (Please see Mitt Romney for more examples)

It also helps me, listening to those with opposing views, to understand why they believe what they do. Is it disgust? Is it hate? Or is it a belief that people can be converted and “made whole”? Without understanding why they believe what they believe, I have no anchor to ground my reaction. And you don’t want to see this b*tch Hulk out.

ALL THAT SAID…

Cameron becomes a prissy, whiny, nipple-muncher once he starts talking about “blasphemy laws.” He speaks as if these laws are the reason for people firing back at him. While it’s not said, it’s almost as if he thinks there’s some sort of government push against him (I base this on his use of the word “laws”).

It’s called culture. It’s called a response from people who disagree. While I have no doubt that many of these people responded in ways that I would not agree with or support, this is not a result of him breaking some supposed blasphemy law. It’s about his views differing from his responders. It’s the discourse that our country was founded on.

And yes, even the Founding Fathers could be dickheads when it came to public discourse.

That’s the thing about free speech. Free speech doesn’t mean you can say anything you want without consequences. Free speech means the government can’t censor you. It doesn’t mean your fellow countrymen don’t have the right to tell you you’re being an ingrown pubic hair*. They do. And they should.

Because without balance, freedom means nothing.

*See what I did there? Practicing my creative swearing vis-a-vis Chris Kluwe.

Posted on October 10, 2012, in Gay News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. *sigh*

    Why is that suddenly when I want to express my right to free speech, it comes along with the agenda of taking away the free speech of conservative folks? Suddenly, if I want to say that I won’t eat at Chik-Fil-A because they give money to hate groups, that means I’m trying to take away the free speech of those who are anti-gay? What?!?

Leave a Reply

