What if – Love Actually Style

Did you watch the deleted scenes from Love Actually? Do you remember the fart assignment scene?

Well, if the memory has faded, or you’ve never watched the deleted scenes, let me set up the scene for you…

Emma Thompson is sitting across from her son’s principal and teacher, her son sitting next to her. The educator duo express concern over an essay E.T.’s son wrote for a class assignment called “My Christmas Wish.” His wish? That everyone’s farts would be visible for one day. Emma Thompson plays the “Oh my goodness,” mother part, in front of the teacher, but then rales against the injustice of it all when she gets out into the hall with her son.

Frankly, this is the only scene from the movie I remember, because it struck a chord for me.

I also remember Hugh Grant was the prime minister, which is memorable because it’s about as plausible as Mira Sorvino as a scientist. Mimic anyone? Yeah, I wish I didn’t remember Mimic either.

This fart assignment scene reminded me to ask, “What if?” I’d asked it all the time as a kid, but fell out of the habit as I grew older. Even now, it’s not a natural state – but I’m working to make it part of my thinking again. For example, I just asked myself:

  • What if my tea was not decaf?
  • What if the sky was purple?
  • What if I had an invisibility cloak?
  • What if the Patriot Act hadn’t been signed?
  • What if John McCain was hispanic?

The choices are endlessly fascinating.

All good ideas, bad ideas, and comedic ideas start with one simple question – What if…

What’s your What If?

And to inspire you, here’s the video:

Also, isn’t E.T. just the greatest mother ever in this scene?

Posted on December 3, 2012, in What If? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

